“On Writing Well” by William Zinsser

I had to read this book in college for one of my courses.  Unlike most of my college textbooks, I read this one as eagerly as I would read a novel.  I loved how the author embedded examples of the right usage of words or punctuation in the text as he told readers how to use the correct words and punctuation.  When he talked about using short sentences effectively, he used short sentences.  

The tone of the book made me feel like I was being taught to write by someone who believed I could write well, if I tried.   There were no contrived examples, just exposure to good writing.  Compared to some of the books I had to plod through (often getting mired in technical words and lengthy explanations) this book was refreshing while informative: I skipped my way through the pages and was inspired to write well. 

Leave a Reply

