“Fun Loving You: Enjoying your Marriage in the Midst of the Grind” by Ted Cunningham

I have read books on “making your marriage better” before, but this one really impressed me.  From the first chapter you can tell that the author takes marriage seriously, but not himself.  It’s a book about enjoying your marriage and I’m pretty sure the author enjoyed writing it.

You can tell throughout the book that he is really passionate about encouraging couples in their marriages.  He doesn’t point the finger, but he also doesn’t pull his punches.  I love how candid he is, without going overboard.  And I appreciate how he backs everything up with Scripture.  Not only does he base his insights on Scripture, he founds them on several different passages (without quoting a verse every other line).  I especially appreciated that he did not ALLITERATE his points!  He uses real words; and his message is memorable because it is truth and he shares it enthusiastically (and humorously).

Basically it is a book with a lot of truth-speaking, a lot of encouragement, and a lot of ideas to help your marriage be all God means for it to be.  This is not a survival guide, but more of a tourist brochure.

This book will be publish on September 1, 2013.  Thanks to NetGalley (https://www.netgalley.com) I was allowed to read an advance copy, so that I could give my honest opinion on it.  I can honestly say, I really enjoyed this book!

Leave a Reply

