“Finding God in the Bible” by Darren Wilson

The title makes this book sound like a theological tome that you would expect to read in seminary.  But read the fine-print on the cover and it will give you an idea of what you will find on the inside.  

With a refreshing tone the author takes us through things he has noticed about God’s personality and character in His interactions with His “friends”.  There is so much insight packed into this book; it’s encouraging, but also holds a warning: God is not to be taken lightly.  

This book has great messages for people that have been doing “the Christian thing” for a while now and (or) feel stuck.  So many things he said resonated with me.  I loved his down-to-earth re-telling of Bible stories (some very well-known). I didn’t get the impression that he was trying to make them more “real”, just more understandable.  And, being the story-teller that he is, he keeps his readers’ rapt attention: I didn’t put down this book until I finished it.   I think you’ll be tempted to do the same.   There is more I could say, but it would be more enjoyable for you to discover it for yourself.  

NetGalley (https://www.netgalley.com) and Chosen Books provided me with a copy of this book to read and give my honest opinion on, which I have. 

Leave a Reply

