“God’s Bucket List” by Teresa Tomeo

God’s Bucket List: Heaven’s Surefire Way to Happiness in This Life and Beyond 

by Teresa Tomeo

An interesting and well-written work, though I have to admit that the title seems a little glib for a book that strongly encourages knowing and following Jesus Christ as the true way to happiness. The author speaks in a personable, honest, and passionate fashion about her topic.

While her introduction was clearly written and draws in the reader, I found that the way she approaches her topics in the actual chapters doesn’t quite match the way she said she would go about it. She said she wanted to think about and explore what God’s bucket list would be for us, but then approached the items on “God’s” bucket list from a (albeit biblically-based) personal-experience perspective. If I could, I think I’d re-name the book something like: “How to Find God (and Yourself!) in a Helter-Skelter World.”

She includes many aptly-used Bible verses as well as quotations from many well-known Christians from both ancient and recent history. While her work is certainly useful and insightful to Protestants as well; it has a decidedly Catholic feel to it. It is not offensive—just, different.

Thanks to Net Galley (https://www.netgalley.com/) and Crown Publishing for providing me with a copy of this book to read and review.  

One comment on ““God’s Bucket List” by Teresa Tomeo

  1. Jeff Cann says:

    I agree with you that the introduction drew me into the book. I tried to read one chapter every day to give it time to sink in. I think it’s a book that I will pick up from time-to-time to remind me of ways to get out of the my head and the secular world and into the world of God’s will for my life.

Leave a Reply

