“Minding Molly” by Leslie Gould

It has taken me until the third book in this series to catch on that each story is reminiscent of a Shakespearean drama.  Given that these are books about the Amish, I find it most intriguing that the author was able to pull this off so subtly and so well.   The first book, Courting Cate, was similar to The Taming of the Shrew.  The second Adoring Addie was an Amish version of Romeo and Juliet.  And the last Minding Molly, is a rendition of A Midsummer Night’s Dream.      

While I have read the Shakespearean dramas portrayed in the first two, I admit I have never read A Midsummer Night’s Dream.   I imagine it has similar similarities to its precursor as the other two novels did to theirs.  I did appreciate, however, that this was not simply a re-telling of the story in a different setting; it was still very believable as an Amish romance.  The Christian viewpoints and characters make for more depth and drama; as well as conclusions that are less gruesome or blithe (depending on the type of drama) than the Shakespearean versions.

     I am curious to see if there will be any more books in this series: I can always hope!

Thank you to NetGalley (https://www.netgalley.com/) and Bethany House Publishers for providing me with a copy of this book to read and review.

Leave a Reply

