The Heirloom Brides Collection

I read three of the four stories in this collection before running out of time (my own fault). I loved the idea of stories based on the “something old, something new…” theme. The only thing I didn’t like about them is that they were too short (my usual complaint). I especially enjoyed Kim Vogel Sawyer’s story Something Borrowed, where Clara has to “borrow” one of her neighbours sons to help out, only to be overwhelmed by everyone in the Mennonite community coming together to help her. It was interesting to learn more about Mennonite culture, and of course the romance was both sweet and poignant.

My only regret is that I didn’t get to read Something Blue, but I’m sure that it lives up to the rest of the collection in it’s characters’ spiritual developments, humour, and romance.

A big thank you to NetGalley (https://www.netgalley.com/) and Barbour Publishing for providing me with this book to read and review.

Leave a Reply

